The Power of Juicing

Looking back at my last two posts, I can’t believe I forgot to mention one of the most important things: juicing.  I’ve been juicing at least once a day as a snack in the afternoon, or as a late morning boost.  A few years ago, I invested in a Breville juicer from Bed, Bath & Beyond (I used the 20% off coupon) which has been a savior to me.  (For more advanced juicers out there, definitely go for one with a wheat grass option).  Because it is likely that I have an infection, I need to stay away from juices that have too much sugar.  For example, on a normal day, I would add beets or carrots to a healthy juice, but lyme disease feeds on sugar, so I’ve personally been avoiding those two veggies.  

Here is a typical green juice that makes me feel great, and helps curb the hunger:

  • leafy greens/ kale
  • one apple (I prefer granny smith, as it cuts the strong veggie flavor)
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 5 or 6 pieces of celery
  • tablespoon of parsley
  • teaspoon size of ginger root

For new juicers out there, the most important ingredient to remember is the apple – I can’t stress enough how much more bearable it makes a juice for someone not used to drinking vegetables.

Today’s Health Update:

I am happy to announce that I am 4 full water-weight pounds lighter than I have been.  For the record, it’s been 36 hours since I started on the raw diet.  That evidence alone tells me that something is working.  Also, I slept almost THROUGH THE NIGHT, which I haven’t done in months.  I had NO radiating pains through my arms which I have been suffering with since January.  Overall, today was a positive day.  

I can’t stress enough how much I appreciate the support from my friends and family.  I received emails, phone calls, and messages of love from many of you, and for that I am grateful.  My dear friend, Claudia, linked her blog to mine in support of my mission.  See her blog here: http://www.ccitarella.blogspot.com/

My journey also reconnected me with my old friend, Sarah, who has always been an inspiration to me.  I can’t wait to talk to her on the phone and get her feedback – she is doing her own work and has a lot of advice for me at this time.  I also received an email from my friend, Rachel, who stated that she was in awe of what we were doing.  Overall, those are just a few examples of how lucky I am to have the support that I have.  I wouldn’t be able to get through this without all of you.

Today’s Menu:

  • Breakfast: Raw oatmeal and a strong cup of green tea (Japanese)
  • Snack: nuts and cranberries
  • Lunch: delicious salad made by Rich with avocado, carrots, orange bell pepper, organic salsa, and lemon
  • Snack: green juice (see above) and raw bar from Mrs. Green’s
  • Dinner: Kelp with a nutty sauce (from the Raw Recipe Book)

My only setback today was that my feet were swollen at work.  I knew this would happen and was prepared for it.  Rich wrote me a message encouraging me that my work so far has been great and that it can only get better.  While the swelling bothered me, I know that I’ve had so many visible improvements so far.  Nowhere to go but up!  My friends at work confirmed that the swelling in my face has entirely diminished – not a bad compliment at all.

Overall, an AWESOME day.  I’m happier, and your support has been incredible.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Juicing

  1. I love juicing. I make a drink similar to the green one you mentained and it gives me such an energy boost.

  2. just had the zucchini pasta. AWESOME….

Leave a Reply

