Thirty, Flirty and Fun.

One of my biggest supporters, my older and wiser brother, turned 30 on Saturday.  I’m two years younger than Matthew, and have always wanted to be more like him.  He’s adventurous, hard working, talented, and a true “connector.” By that, I mean he connects people from all walks of life.  At his birthday party on Saturday, there may have been about 60 people there at one point, all getting along famously and ultimately there to show their love and support for my brother.

My brother is one of the top supporters of my blog for two reasons: first, because he owns and runs a business that focuses on social media strategy, and second, because my brother has suffered from food allergies for as long as I can remember.  His allergies to foods like eggs and soy present themselves in what you would call the “typical” fashion, much more obvious than swollen feet.  Lately, my brother has been really taking care of himself, eating an awesomely balanced diet and doing high intensity interval training.  I hope to be able to do some of the same exercises soon.  Cheers to you in the next decade, brother!

I dreaded going out to eat… and then was pleasantly surprised.

For Matthew’s birthday dinner, he picked this incredible restaurant in the East Village called  Supper, which I was admittedly freaking out about because it’s primarily Italian.  Probably because it was located in the East Village, and therefore super hip and trendy, the restaurant actually offered two vegan options which I took full advantage of: a zucchini kale soup, and an avocado salad (with just lemon and pepper for dressing).  The food was phenomenal!  For those like me who have super anxiety about going out to eat for fear that you might accidentally eat something fatal, don’t be afraid to talk to the waiter/waitress at length about your dietary restrictions, and always check the menu before you get there.  Here’s a look at the delicious meal:

Image

The Latest Feasts

On Friday night, Rich and I wanted to do something fun, but after the work week we both had, couldn’t even think about going out.  Instead, we found two recipes for raw stuffed peppers and raw chocolate pudding.  They were both easy to make, and frankly delicious.  The best part about the raw chocolate pudding was that it was so fresh and light, and tasted so authentic.  We are planning on giving it to our friends and then telling them after that it’s made with avocado.  Here are the recipes:

Raw Peppers: 

  • red bell pepper, cut in half
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 1/4 cup hemp or sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup chopped red or white onion
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mexican seasoning (we used chili pepper)
  • 1/2 cup sliced avocado
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro
  1. Cut the red bell peppers in half and remove the stems and seeds.
  2. In a food processor, process the pecans, hemp seeds, onion, lime juice, jalapeno, salt, and Mexican seasoning.
  3. Fill each red bell pepper half full with the prepared mixture and garnish with avocado slices and cilantro.

Raw Chocolate Pudding

  • 4 tablespoons raw cacao powder (can be found at Mrs. Green’s)
  • 1 1/2 avocado
  • A little less than a quarter cup agave (recipe said 1/2 cup, which is absurd)
  • touch of salt
  • 1/4 cup water (add more if necessary)

Blend all ingredients in a blender, chill, and enjoy.

photo (4)

Tonight’s Amazing Vegan Meal: Zesty Mexican Quinoa – YUM!

This was by far one of my most favorite things we have made – I absolutely recommend to EVERYONE.  Ingredients:

  • 1 cup White quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • can of organic black beans
  • one green pepper, one red pepper (can substitute other items such as zucchini)
  • 1/4 chopped red onion
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • touch of chili powder
  • garlic powder – optional
  1. Boil the vegetable stock, add the quinoa, cover and simmer until absorbed.
  2. Mix in the other ingredients, and spices.
  3. ENJOY!

For the record, the picture does it no justice.

photo (5)

Some final thoughts for tonight

I want to take a moment to really truly thank each and every one of you who supports me and who has reached out during this time.  I do have some downs (the doctor says I’ll have slight swelling until my system is truly healed), but I feel like I’ve been on cloud 9 since our raw journey started. Here’s to many more good days, more energy, and more raw deliciousness.  Oh, and happy birthday, Matthew.

One thought on “Thirty, Flirty and Fun.

  1. I am happy that you are doing well. Thanks so much for including the recipes. Love the quinoa. Next I am trying Swiss chard in your honor. Am also feeling better and have lost about 3 #’s. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

