Feeling 90% and ready to rejoin society.

5/10/13

Today marks two months and ten days since I decided to make the conscious decision to change my life.  As I reflect back on this time, I cannot believe where I was, and where I am today.  From my heaviest, I am down 23 pounds and for the first time in twenty seven years feel good about the person I have become.  Although it is an ongoing process, I have much less fatigue and brain fog than when I started this journey.  I feel in control of my life, my body, my job, and my health.  And I truly feel better every single day.  It’s been a couple weeks since finishing my course of pylera and the improvement I have seen in my health has been both steady and rapid.  Yes, I still get tired after a very long day of work and take time to nap upon getting home.  But I’ve come to recognize that this is something I must do – give in. 

Out to Dinner and other fun disasters.

Anyone with a restricted diet knows that going out to dinner can be tricky, especially if you run into a situation where the restaurant is not sensitive to your needs or messes up your order.  No, you can’t wipe the cream sauce off the steak and re-serve it to me.  Yes, I will still blow up like a balloon.  Last night, my fiance’s family and I went to a wonderful birthday dinner for my future brother-in-law.  It killed me when I smelled my favorite food come out for an appetizer: eggplant parmagiana, stuffed mushrooms, and garlic shrimp.  While part of me wanted to jump out the window, the other part remembered trying on a bathing suit the night before and loved how I felt for literally the first time in my life.  (Yes, eating like a champ has the added side effect of looking awesome).  For dinner, I ordered steak which came with a cream sauce, and I asked for it without the cream sauce.  When they brought a big creamy steak out, my heart sunk.  However, long stressful story short – it turned out that my plain steak was still in the kitchen and there had been a mix up.  (Note: yes, I know, eating red meat is directly against the raw lifestyle, and for that I apologize.  I don’t do it often, and when I do I make sure to get “grass fed.” Also, a lot of my raw people can have nama shoyu, corn, edamame, and other soy products to keep things interesting.  I cannot).

Lesson here: you will feel high maintenance ordering everything special.  Get over it. You are special.  Moving on…

I can’t wait to see my friends.

It’s been over five months since I slipped into the shadows of sickness, exhaustion, and inflammation, and I miss my friends terribly.  My girls in the city, the ones who try to make “fetch” happen, and everyone in between.  I’ve been unavailable after work and on the weekends, as all I was doing was going to the doctor and sleeping.  I genuinely miss my friends and really feel that it’s now time to ease back into seeing them.  As it’s been beautiful weather here, I’m sure there will be plenty of evenings in the near future sitting outside with them and finding out what’s been going on in their lives.  I want to take this opportunity to say to each and every one of them that I am thankful for their friendship, especially those who have given me great support with what I am doing.

Eating awesome and rawsome also helps me to let things roll off my back and accept change.

I am not one who embraces change readily.  Change is uncomfortable.  But most times, it results in something even better than what you started with.  In the middle of wedding planning and this huge health issue, I received notice three days ago that I would have to move out of my apartment next month.  It wasn’t something I was planning on, as it would have been too much to figure out while I’m a few months away from getting married.  However, life is never what you planned.  I of all people should know that.  After a couple days of some stressful searching, I purposely recognized and reflected on what was happening and became excited that Rich and I would start our marriage somewhere new.  Prior to my huge diet change, I probably would not have been so refreshed about the prospect of picking up and moving.  I also was so diligent about looking for a place that I may have already stumbled upon the perfect place.  More on that, however, when it becomes final. 

I’ll be heading to the doctor for my monthly checkup next week, and for that I am grateful.  I always write down a million questions for her, and she is very patient with me.  I took another test for my Vitamin D levels since I’ve seen her last, as low Vitamin D is a strong indication of the beginnings of autoimmune disease.  I’m about a third of the way through the book she wrote (see post below), and am really learning the science behind the bad path my body was heading down before I changed my life.  Not to freak anyone out, but those of you who guessed that my symptoms were starting to resemble the first stages of MS were not far off.  Gluten could have killed me. 

This time, rather than a million questions, I will ask the doctor just one: how do I go from being 90% to 100%? Because I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

