Jumping Into 28

Note to self:  planning a wedding while trying to maintain a blog and working full time = physically impossible.  To my readers who have been concerned that I’ve been gone for three months, I truly apologize!  Yes, I am OK.  Yes, I am still living and eating well.  I have been feeling compelled to write this post not only because people have reached out with concern, but also because I’m feeling really, really good.  Here we go:

Don’t Let the Door Hit You on the Way Out, 27.

Every year, the night before my birthday is a night where I reflect on the best thing about being that age and what I’m looking forward to in the new year.  This year was very, very different.  When it came time to reflect on the best thing, I literally could not think of anything that was super great.  Feelings of never wanting to look back came up like never before.  27 was a very, very rough year for me.  I was sick for nearly most of it and I just had such a bad taste in my mouth.  Those of you who have chronic issues of any kind can totally relate, I’m sure.

But… that’s not really ME.  I’m not bitter, I don’t see the glass half empty, and despite it being difficult, I made myself say something positive about being 27: it was getting BETTER and being HEALTHY again, and learning all that I have learned about my food intolerances.  

28 is already so awesome I cannot even begin to describe it.  My stepmom tells me every year about the significance of the number that I am turning, and 28 is a new cycle for me.  THANK THE GOOD LORD! Also pretty fitting, considering that in just 7 weeks, I will have the most life-changing day ever: I will finally marry the love of my life.

You’ve Saved Me More Times Than You Know

Just a word of advice to those going through a rough time: open your eyes and look around.  Thank the person next to you who doesn’t need to go through it with you, but just is because they love you.  

Rich has saved my life in more ways than he will ever know.  This year, my birthday marked 10 years to the day since he and I really became FRIENDS.  That has so much significance, especially because the night after my 18th birthday was the first time of many, many times that he saved my life.  Let’s just say he showed up.  When no one else did.  This seems to be a constant trend in our relationship – his dependability is unreal and he really should be recognized for that.  

This year was no different – Rich made our relationship stronger than I ever thought possible by making the decision to change his entire lifestyle to fit mine.  His commitment to eating healthy foods so that I would not be alone is pretty unbelievable.  He never even cheats, because I physically can’t.  On top of doing it for me, taking care of himself is the best gift I could possibly get everyday.  I am so thrilled to have a partner I can walk through life with who really cares enough about himself to only put wholesome foods onto his plate and into his life.  Thank you for being you, each and every day.

Overall Health Status

We’re talking 93-95%, people.  I’m feeling really, really great.  I went to purely paleo eating for a while there, but I’m taking a step back toward my vegan and raw roots.  I think there’s a lot to be said about how beneficial the paleo lifestyle can be, but there’s also something to say about listening to what your body needs.  I haven’t eaten any meat in almost 2 weeks and it feels wonderful.  I’m sure I’ll get back to that point, but my protein is coming now through seeds, nuts, and protein-rich vegetables.   If I decide I can reintroduce meat, I’m sure I’ll do that.  Without apologies.

What Would a Blog Post Be Like Without a New Recipe?

One of the best things about getting ready to get married?  A bridal shower.  Shocked with how beautiful the entire day was, there was also the “goodies” that I went home with.  

The Vitamix Blender: 10 best kitchen appliances in one / incredible piece of machinery

For someone who raw “cooks” as much as I do, it’s SHOCKING to me that I lasted so long without a really good food processor/ vitamix blender.  This week, I used the vitamix to make a semi-raw vegan zucchini/ kale summer soup.  Here’s the recipe:

SEMI RAW / VEGAN SUMMER ZUCCHINI/ KALE SOUP

You can make this recipe 100% raw, or you can cook parts, or cook all and blend.  Do whatever you feel!

  • four green zucchini
  • bunch of green kale
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic
  • black pepper
  • himalayan salt
  • olive/ coconut oil
  • vegetable stock – organic

In your soup pot, pour some olive oil, and when hot, cook the onion and garlic, diced for a few minutes.  Add 1/4 cup vegetable stock and simmer for a few minutes.  Add chopped up zucchini and kale and cover pot to soften the veggies (or just leave out and blend later).  Add some salt and pepper to taste.  After a few minutes, spoon the veggies and broth into the vitamix.  Gradually turn to 10 on “variable” setting and then high (note: for those who don’t have one, just throw it in a blender).  Add some stock to your puree’ if you think the soup is too thick for you.  ENJOY!

Until next time, which I hope is not three months from now: HAPPY RAW/ VEGAN/ PALEO/ JUICING!

One thought on “Jumping Into 28

  1. Whoop whoop!!

Leave a Reply

