This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for you, Gluten.

This Thanksgiving, I reflect on the many things I have to be thankful for.  A roof over my head.  My job.  My family.  My incredible selfless husband and our stunning wedding this year.  But I am also thankful for the least suspecting thing:  gluten.  No, I haven’t taken crazy pills and I am not certifiably insane.  

Almost a year ago, which you can see from the beginning of this blog, I became sicker and sicker with no diagnosis and countless doctors.  I had blood taken, CT scans to rule out cancer, was put on malaria meds for “lyme disease” (don’t even get me started on that), and after a lot of internet research between myself and Rich, along with trial and error, it turned out to be a ridiculous intolerance/ allergy to gluten (and dairy, and soy).

I have not eaten these foods since March, and I could not be happier.  I feel more alive and awake than ever before. My body and mind are at optimum health and I can EXERCISE AGAIN.  (Being that I could barely walk last year, this is huge. HUGE.).

So, without further ado, thank YOU, Gluten, for being the sneaky wheat protein that you are.  Thank you for forcing me and my husband to create a home that is healthy and also prepares us for a healthy and happy family.  Thank you for making me aware of things I put into my body.  And thank you for helping me teach others about you, and how to avoid you.

To celebrate this Thanksgiving, I am going to share my latest invention:  

The PERFECT Pumpkin Bread (Gluten, Dairy, Grain, Soy, Corn Free)

  • 1/2 cup almond butter (pref raw, unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1-2 tablespoons vanilla
  • 1/3 cup raw honey
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 cup organic pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1-2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

Mix wet ingredients; add the almond flour and any remaining dry ingredients.  Pour mixture into a greased (with coconut oil) bread pan.  Cook at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes.  Keep checking – may take more time depending on the type of pan.

This is by far the best pumpkin bread I have made!  

 

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.  I will continue to be thankful for you and every ounce of support.

 

Leave a Reply

